REVEALING the SECRETS of LAOAG CITY

I’ve never really expected that I’ll be going back to the same place for the 3rd time – Laoag City. Laoag City is part of Ilocos Norte or actually the capital of Northern Ilocos. The place is said to be historical. But believe it or not, during my 1st and 2nd trip to the place, I’ve never really explored it that much. I actually just passed by it because my target was Pagudpud. Well, this time, I had more time to discover the secrets of Laoag City.

The main attraction of the place is the Sinking Bell 

Tower which was built by Augustinian Friars in 1612. It stands 45 meters. Why was it called the Sinking Bell Tower? Tales by old people mentioned that a person on a horseback once could enter its vaulted entrance without stooping. Now, a person of ordinary height has to lean forward to enter through the tower door because the tower has already sunk, and that’s why  it was called the Sinking Bell Tower.

Wanna indulge yourself more with Philippine history specifically Ilocos’ chronicles? Go to Museo Ilocos Norte. I wasn’t able to enter into the museum because it was still closed but I believe that whatever questions you may have regarding Ilocos Norte, the museum can answer all of them.

The Museum outside

Before going any further, you should pay a quick visit to the City Hall. You’ll see a lot of Philippine flags in front, plus Jose Rizal’s Monument. Across city hall is the UP Oblation. I think people in this place are very patriotic. Viva Pilipinas!

Philippines’ National Hero – Dr. Jose Rizal

More of Laoag City.

Houses and establishments along the road are as old as this. they look nice though. really historical. it’s like going back to the Spanish times.

“Kalesa”. It was one of the most famous transportation in the olden times.

 

2 thoughts on “REVEALING the SECRETS of LAOAG CITY

    • I think I got the info on an “information plate” attached to the building. And a little bit of interview of the locals so can’t really give u anything. Sorry.

Leave a comment